शास्त्रीय शिक्षण कॆन्द्र

Ashrams & Maths

 Traditionally, an ashram (Sanskrit/Hindi: आश्रम) is a spiritual hermitage. Additionally, today the term ashram often denotes a locus of Indian cultural activity such as yoga, music study or religious instruction, the moral equivalent of a studio or dojo.

An ashram would typically, but not always, be located far from human habitation, in forests or mountainous regions, amidst refreshing natural surroundings conducive to spiritual instruction and meditation. The residents of an ashram regularly performed spiritual and physical exercises, such as the various forms of Yoga. Other sacrifices and penances, such as Yajnas were also performed. Many ashrams also served as Gurukuls or residential schools for children.

Ashrams have been a powerful symbol throughout Hindu history and theology. Most Hindu kings, until the medieval ages, are known to have had a sage who would advise the royal family in spiritual matters, or in times of crisis, who was called the rajguru, which literally translates to royal teacher. A world-weary emperor going to this guru's ashram, and finding solace and tranquility, is a recurring motif in many folktales and legends of ancient India.

Sometimes, the goal of a pilgrimage to the ashram was not tranquility, but instruction in some art, especially warfare. In the Hindu epic Ramayana, the protagonist princes of ancient Ayodhya, Rama and Lakshmana, go to the Rishi Vishvamitra's ashram to protect his Yajnas from being defiled by emissary-demons of Ravana. After they prove their mettle, the princes receive martial instruction from the sage, especially in the use of Divine weapons, called Divyastras (Sanskrit Divya: Divine + Astra: missile weapon; the Sanskrit word 'astra' means missile weapon, such as an arrow, as opposed to 'shastra', which means a hand-to-hand weapon, such as a mace.) In the Mahabharata, Lord Krishna, in his youth, goes to the ashram of Sage Sandipani, to gain knowledge of both intellectual and spiritual matters.


Main Sampradayas of the Mats & Ashrams

Sl No Sampradayas No of Sub Sumbradayas Group Founder Deities Worshipped Nature
1 Sri Sampradaya 25 Vaishnava Sampradaya Ramanand Lakshmi Narayan Orthodox
2 Nimbarka 21 Vaishnava Sampradaya Nimbarakacharya Radha Krishna Orthodox
3 Brahma Sampradaya 20 Vaishnava Sampradaya Madhwacharya Vishnu Orthodox
4 Madhawa Gauriya 24 Vaishnava Sampradaya Chaitanya Maha Prabhu Radha Krishna Orthodox
5 Ramanandi 31 Vaishnava Sampradaya Vallabacharya Radha Krishna Orthodox
6 Vallabhachari 27 Vaishnava Sampradaya Ramanand Sita Rama Orthodox
7 Sakhi 6 Vaishnava Sampradaya   Rama Chandra Orthodox
8 Udasi 5 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sri Chand Panchdeo Orthodox
9 Swami Narayan 5 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sant Swamy Narayan All Hindu Deities Orthodox
10 Dhami 3 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sant Pran Nath Bala Krishna Orthodox
11 Dharnishwari 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Baba Dharini Das Sita Ram Orthodox
12 Mahanubhawao 2 Vaishnava Sampradaya Chakradhar Sri Krishna Orthodox
13 Harishchandi 3 Vaishnava Sampradaya   All Vaishnava Deities Orthodox
14 Malookdasi 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Malook Das Vishnu Orthodox
15 Parinami 4 Vaishnava Sampradaya Swamy Pran Nath Bal Krishna Orthodox
16 Rasik 2 Vaishnava Sampradaya   Sita Ram Orthodox
17 Parasrami 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Paras Ram Devacharya Radha Krishna Orthodox
18 Radha Vallabhi 6 Vaishnava Sampradaya Hit Hari Vansh Sir Krishna Orthodox
19 Radha Ramni 4 Vaishnava Sampradaya Baba Harihara Das Radha Orthodox
20 Brahma Kumari 5   Baba Lekh Raj All Hindu Deities Reformist
21 Kabir 5   Kabir Das Formless God Reformist
22 Dadu 5   Dadu Dayal Formless God Reformist
23 Nirmala 5   Baba Veer Singh Formless God (Adi Gerantha) Reformist
24 Bhagat 1   Baba Bhagat Ram Formless God (Adi Grantha) Reformist
25 Baba Lali 3 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sant Baba Lal Formless God (Ram or Hari) Reformist
26 Charandasi 3 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sant Charan Das All Vaishnava Deities Reformist
27 Dariyadasi 1   Dariya Das Formless God (Satyalok) Reformist
28 Nirankari 4   Baba Dayal Das Formless God Reformist
29 Kayam 1    Karuna Sagar Formless God Reformist
30 Radha Soami 5   Baba Shiva Dayal Formless God (Radha Soami Dham) Reformist
31 Dhariya 5   Darya Saheb (A Muslim) Formless God (Para Brahma or Allah) Reformist
32 Gheesa 4   Sant Gheesa Das Formless God Reformist
33 Garib Dasi 5   Sant Garib Das Formless God Reformist
34 Gulab Dasi 4   Baba Gulab Das Happiness as the goal of life Reformist
35 Lal 3 Vaishnava Sampradaya Baba Lal Das (A Muslim) Formless God (Ram) Reformist
36 Nangi 2 Vaishnava Sampradaya Sant Derha Raj Formless God (Ram) Reformist
37 Nirjani 5   Sant Jagan Das Formless God Reformist
38 Nambhari 5   Bhai Ram Singh Formless God Reformist
39 Nirakari 4   Baba Sarju Das Formless God Reformist
40 Paltu Sahabi 1   Sant Paltu Saheb Formless God Reformist
41 Prem Prakashi 4   Baba prem Prakash Formless God Reformist
42 Panap 3   Pramahans Panap Das Formless God (Hari & Ram) Reformist
43 Rai Dasi 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Ravi Das All Vaishnava Deities Reformist
44 Ram Sanchi 4 Vaishnava Sampradaya Jai Mal Das Formless God (Ram) Reformist
45 Shiva Narayani 5 Vaishnava Sampradaya Shiva Narayan Formless God (Shiva Narayan) Reformist
46 Satta Nami 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya   Formless God Reformist
47 Sitarami 4 Vaishnava Sampradaya Baba Ram Chandra Formless God (Sita Ram) Reformist
48 Sadh 1   Sant Beer Bhan Formless God Reformist
49 Saheb 4 Vaishnava Sampradaya Tulasi Das Ram Reformist
50 Suthara 3   Suthara Sab Formless God (Adi Grantha) Reformist
51 Seva 2   Baba Kenhaiya Das Formless God (Adi Grantha) Reformist
52 Bawari 2     Formless God Reformist
53 Dashanami 60 Smarta Sampradaya Shankaracharya Panchayatana (Vishnu, Shakti, Shiva, Ganapati, Surya) Orthodox
54 Kanphata 60 Shaiva Sampradaya Baba Gorak Nath Shiva Orthodox
55 Agori 10 Shaiva Sampradaya Brahma Giri Shiva Orthodox
56 Veerashaiva 5 Shaiva Sampradaya   Shiva Orthodox
57 Lingayat 5 Shaiva Sampradaya Basavanna Shiva Reformist
58 Keenarami 10 Shaiva Sampradaya Keena Ram Shiva Orthodox
59 Shivoham 20 Shaiva Sampradaya Akhandanand Shhiva Reformist
60 Karalingi 5 Shaiva Sampradaya   Shiva Orthodox
61 Sat Sain 10 Shaiva Sampradaya Baba Sat Sain Shiva Reformist
62 Ghanapatiya 4 Ganapatya Sampradaya   Ganesha Orthodox
63 Kapalik 1 Shaiva Sampradaya Kal Kal Bhairo Orthodox
64 Shakta 4 Shakta Sampradaya   Kali, Durga, Bhagavati Orthodox
65 Anandamargi 2 Others Prabhath Ranjan Sarkar (alias Anand Murthi) Happiness as the goal of life Radical
66 Muni Samaji 2 Others Shiva Kumar Shastri OM Radical
67 Kumbhi Patia 2 Others Baba Mukund Das Phallic Worship (Horse) Radical
68 Kaumara 1 Kaumara Sampradaya   Skanda or Subramanya or Muruga Orthodox
69 Sri Vaishnava 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Ramanujacharya Lakshmi Narayana Orthodox
70 Parama Vaishanava 1 Vaishnava Sampradaya Madhvacharya Krishna Orthodox